Citizens of 25 more countries to get non-sponsored eVisa

October 21, 2017

Representational image

The ROP has given special visa status to citizens of 25 more countries on same lines it had relaxed rules for Indian, Chinese and Russian nationals.

The ROP has issued the new list of the countries whose citizens will be offered non-sponsored eVisa. The new list includes countries such as Azerbaijan, Armenia, Albania, Uzbekistan, Iran, Panama, Bhutan, Bosnia, Peru, Belarus, Turkmenistan, Maldives, Georgia, Honduras, Salvador, Tajikistan, Guatemala, Vietnam, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Cuba, Costa Rica, Laos, Mexico and Nicaragua.

As per the guidelines, the same rule applies to the citizens of these countries as applicable to Indians, Chinese and Russian nationals. The applicant should have a valid passport for a period of not less than six months.

The applicant must be a resident or holder of a visa from one of the following countries: the US, Canada, Australia, the UK and Schengen countries. The applicant’s residence/visa in these countries should be valid when applying for visa. The visa applicant shall have a return ticket and a confirmed hotel reservation in order to be granted the visa.

The visa can be availed by the spouse (husband/wife) and children of the visa holder as long as they are accompanying him/her even if they do not hold a visa from these countries. The fees for the visa, which will be granted for a period of one month, will be RO20. However, competent authorities may prohibit the citizens of these countries who meet the terms and conditions for obtaining a visa, from entering the sultanate, if the public interest so requires.