Athira beats Mayaja in ISC badminton women’s final

April 30, 2019

Athira (left) and Mayaja

Athira Venugopal claimed the women singles crown at the ongoing ISC annual badminton tournament on Sunday.

In a thrilling final, Athira, a former junior winner at the club, rallied from an opening game loss to defeat Mayaja Harish 19-21, 21-6, 21-6. 

Meanwhile, Nowfal defeated Vaishakh Nair in the men’s A semifinal 21-13, 21-15 to set up a title clash with Jeswin Mathew.  In the second semifinal, Jeswin outplayed Milind Naithani 21-5, 21-7.

Also in the veterans’ singles, Percy Pereira set up a summit clash with S Ganesh.

In the semifinals, Percy defeated Manoj Varghese 21-16, 21-12 while Ganesh overcame Vinod Kumar 21-8, 21-6. 

The men’s A doubles final will be between the pair of Aaron Aju and Nitin and Abin Jose and Nowfal. Aju and Nitin beat Rajesh and Mony Jacob 22-0, 17-21, 21-10 while Jose and Nowfal upset the fancied pair of Vaishakh Nair and Jeswin Mathew 21-17, 11-21, 21-19.