Omantel League: Suwaiq to receive league winner’s shield on May 31

May 16, 2018

Suwaiq’s coach Hakeem Shaker is lifted by players after their title win 

Al Suwaiq, which was crowned the 2017-18 Omantel League champion on Monday, will receive the winner's shield after the final round of the league on May 31, according to a senior official of the Oman Football Association (OFA) on Tuesday.

H H Sayyid Taimur bin Asad bin Tariq al Said, assistant secretary general for communication at The Research Council, will be the chief guest on the occasion.

The final round game of Suwaiq, coached by former Iraq coach Hakeem Shaker, will be against Sohar and will kick off at 10pm at the Seeb Sports Stadium. Shaker took over the club's reign only in March and since then has led the club to a seven-match unbeaten streak.


Suwaiq had defeated Al Salam 4-2 on Monday to lift the domestic league crown for the fourth time with four rounds remaining as it garnered a total of 57 points to take an unassailable lead over second-placed Al Shabab.

Meanwhile, in the late night games played on Monday, Al Shabab was held to a goalless draw by Al Arouba at the Seeb Sports Stadium while last edition's winner Dhofar was held 1-1 by Saham in Sohar.

Shabab's draw meant that it remains second  with 41 points but third-placed Al Nasr's win on Monday has narrowed the difference between the two clubs to seven points.

Dhofar picked a crucial point away that helped the ten-time champion climb to eighth place with 26 points. However, nine-time winner Fanja is in big trouble, having been pushed to the bottom following its shock 2-3 loss to Al Mudhaibi. Oman and Saham are also in drop zone respectively.

The next round will be on May 18-19 while the penultimate round games will be played on May 22-23. All the 14 teams will be in action on the final day of the league on May 31 that will also bring the curtains down on the domestic season.

Standings [after 22 rounds]: 1 Al Suwaiq (57 points), 2 Al Shabab (41), 3 Al Nasr (34), 4 Al Nahda (30), 5 Al Arouba (30), 6 Muscat (27), 7 Al Salam (27), 8 Dhofar (26), 9 Sohar (26), 10 Al Mudhaibi (26), 11 Mirbat (26), 12 Oman (25), 13 Saham (23), Fanja (23).